Study in Albania

Study in Albania

Albania is a country located in Southeastern Europe in the southwestern portion of the Balkan Peninsula bordered by Montenegro to the northwest, Kosovo to the northeast, the Republic of Macedonia to the east, and Greece to the south and southeast.

The country might not be a popular place for international students, nevertheless, there’re still good schools offering quality education.

Tertiary education in the country provides three – four years of education for a bachelor’s degree as well as another 1.5 to two years for a masters degree. Doctoral educational follows this and can take as long as three additional years of schooling.

Students here focus on mathematics, sciences, and the humanities. The number of universities, both private and public have increased over the years as well.

To study in Albania, is safe, also, it offers affordable education, and has a low cost of living.

The following are some of the universities found in the country;

  • Aleksander Moisiu University, located in Durres, a public school
  • University of Tirana, located in Tirana, a public school
  • Polytechnic University of Triana, located in Tirana, a public school
  • Fan Noli University, located on Korce, a public school
  • University of Vlora, located in Vlora, a public school
  • Some of the private universities here include satellite schools from around the world.
  • Schools include Kristal University, American University of Tirana, European University of
  • Tirana, Epoka University, Polis University, and Marlin Barleti University, also of Tirana.

The school year is divided into two semesters. Students enrolling in higher education will find some differences between schools in this. In most cases, the school year begins in September and ends in June, encompassing two semesters during that timeframe.

Top 4 Universities in Albania

1. Epoka University (EU) is a private non-profit university founded in 2007 in Tirana, Albania. The university received accreditation by the Albanian Agency for Accreditation of Higher Education in 2011.

It offers Bachelor, Master of Science, Professional Master and PhD degrees.[2] There are six PhD programs that are administered solely by Epoka staff in: Architecture, Civil Engineering, Computer Engineering, Economics, Political Science and International Relations and Business Administration. It offers a joint degree with Leeds Metropolitan University.


2. The University of Tirana is a public and the largest university in Albania. It was originally established in 1957 as the State University of Tirana through merging of five existing institutes of higher education, the most important of which was the Institute of Sciences, founded in 1947.

The main building was planned by Italian architect, Gherardo Bosio at the beginning of 1940. It is situated at the Mother Teresa Square, south of the city center of Tirana.

The primary language of instruction is Albanian, but there are a number of faculties of Foreign Languages which are carried out in English, French, Greek, Italian, Spanish, German, Chinese and other languages.


3. The University of Shkodër “Luigj Gurakuqi” in Albania was established in 1957.

It has 6 faculties, 26 branches, 21 departments and more than 190 professors.

It has been the major institution of higher education in the region, especially in the technical and scientific disciplines.

In 1992, the university received permission from the government to initiate the development of the Faculty of Economics, with responsibilities for emphasizing market economics, management, and business administration.


4. Agricultural University of Tirana –The Agricultural University of Tirana is a public university located in Tirana, Albania.

It offers education in agronomy, veterinary, forestry, ecology, agribusiness, and similar subjects.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *